19 replies to this topic

#1 jmander

jmander

Junior Villager

• PipPip
  • 107 posts

Posted 11 September 2007 - 02:05 PM

Hello,

I'm completely new to this, and need some help. I just picked up a cell sensor EMF reader, and was wondering if anyone else who uses this make could give me some basic instructions. I'm quite confused as to what setting to put it on for a typical investigation. My main questions are: should I switch it to the high or normal setting on the side; should I use probe attachment, or leave that off (since that seems to switch what the EMF reader detects); and should I be looking at the milligauss or the mW/cm2 reading?

Thanks in advance!
Posted Image

#2 DeadTrish

DeadTrish

Village Elder

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 561 posts

Posted 12 September 2007 - 07:25 AM

Ok here are a couple basics. If you use it with out the probe it is nothing more than a RF (radio frequency) detector. That is not what you are looking for. That is why you need the probe. If you plan on walking around and take reading you will want to keep the switch on normal. If you walk around with it on high it will most likely keep going off. If you plan on setting it down in a room you can then switch it to high. Also when using the probe make sure you are grabbing it by the probe and not holding it by the wire. This can sometimes produce false readings. Hope that helps. Let me know if you have anymore questions.
TrishDirector/ConsultantAfterlife Investigations: A Paranormal Research SocietyMEMENTO MORI

#3 jmander

jmander

Junior Villager

• PipPip
  • 107 posts

Posted 12 September 2007 - 10:11 AM