Bible

• Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#1 deadzone

deadzone

Village Elder

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 633 posts
  • Interests:I am a Clinical Psychologist, who uses a non-linear approach to helping individuals....Hence, my healthy obsession with the paranormal.....I enjoy debating, research, writing, plays, theater, designing web sites, and graphics, although not well versed in this area, I have fun doing it. I Adore animals and have several, a cat named Cuda, a dog named Skeeter, a horse named Diablo, a betta who fights with himself. I also paint, and blow glass......

Posted 27 March 2004 - 08:36 AM

Every historical document is a product of its times. The prevailing culture is, in most cases, readily discernible from the text. This is true also of religious documents, and true, in particular, of the Bible.

Among Fundamentalist circles, however, there exists a belief that the Bible is completely inspired by God. Of a necessity, this implies that all its pronouncements are true, and there can be found no error in its pages. A number of Christian scholars have also argued that the Bible displays scientific knowledge ahead of its time, adding support to the theory that the Bible is divinely inspired. Is this true? As it turns out, the answer is No. The Bible, like any other ancient historical document, reflects the prescientific thinking that prevailed when it was written.
Posted Image

#2 MoonChild

MoonChild

Undead giant that feasts on hotdogs!

• Town Council
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 50,396 posts
  • Interests:Life

Posted 27 March 2004 - 08:56 AM

hhhhmmmmmmmmmmm............. I am not sure of the pre-scientific concept. What if we have had a long lost civilization that had an advanced scientific mind set? What if they had better mind development and thru which have had acquired better knowhow?

And I guess this is pretty much true with any religious doctrines ;D
Posted Image

#3 Mykiedave

Mykiedave

Village Elder

• PipPipPipPipPip