13 replies to this topic

#1 ravenhecate

ravenhecate

Senior Villager

• PipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Interests:Art, Paganism, Animals

Posted 05 April 2009 - 05:06 AM

This morning, just a few minutes ago, actually, my husband and I were sitting at the dinningroom table cleaning up a board game we had just finished playing when suddenly, the ceiling fan started spinning at it's top speed. The fan blades, just started from a dead stop to spining full force, no gearing up or anything. I looked at my husband, he looked at me, then he stood up, pulled the chain a few times until he turned the fan motor off. The thing is with this fan, it is hooked up to the light switch in the dinning room because the light attached is the only light we have in the dinning room, so it is usually on for a while every night, and never have I had this happen before. I've lived in this house for five years now and I have never used the fan before. I don't really care for ceiling fans, but as it is the only light in the dinning room, I use the light all the time. I had hoped to replace it with a chandelier or something but just haven't had the opportunity to.

I am sure this has a logical, mundane explanation, but would love any of the electricians out there to explain how this might happen

Thanks,

Raven Hecate
Posted ImagePosted Image

#2 CaveRat2

CaveRat2

Village Elder

• Town Council
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,549 posts
  • Interests:Serious Research and separating the truth from the hype in the paranormal field today.

Posted 05 April 2009 - 08:04 AM

Many of these fans use electronic controls for speed selection. These involve solid state latching circuits to select the desired speed. Voltage spikes / electronic noise can set these devices which can cause erratic operation. If it becomes repeated, possibly a filter or surge suppressor in the control is defective. No way of knowing for sure without actually troubleshooting, but unlikely paranormal in nature.

#3 Alan B

Alan B