cemetery hunts

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 amateurgh

amateurgh

• Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 12 April 2009 - 04:30 PM

I am a newbie to ghost hunting. I would like to investigate cemeteries as these are quite accesible. Do most of you obtain permission prior to doing investigations? Or do you just go ahead and do a hunt? TIA!

#2 Justa

Justa

Champion YMCA dancer and professional spaghetti nose shooter

• Town Council
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,497 posts

Posted 12 April 2009 - 06:46 PM

Welcome to Ghostvillage.

Cemeteries are quite popular for investigations, as there are many people who believe that they contain a lot of activity. You should always contact the groundskeeper or caretaker of the cemetery, and discuss what exactly you have in mind. First of all, this will allow you to know whether they support this type of activity or not. Secondly, the keeper will be able to provide you with the best dates to perform your investigation, so that if you are planning on doing it in the daytime, you won't disturb any funeral processions that are happening, and if you are planning on doing it at night, they may be able to meet you there and grant you access. Most of the cemeteries around where I live close at a specific time in the evening. If you enter them after hours without permission, you are trespassing, and may be charged accordingly. Also, by contacting the appropriate personnel, they can tell you of any areas that you should avoid in the dark, due to dangers that you may not see.

It is always good practice to contact somebody and let them know what your intentions are. This will build a good rapport between you and them, and will keep you from being blamed if there is damage done around the time you are there, without seeking permission.