Curse of the lottery

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Axman

Axman

Chainsaws are better......

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,629 posts
  • Interests:Ghost hunting of course! Motorcycles is a big interest of mine. I also am a guitar player (hence my username) but I haven't practiced much over the last year or two. I also enjoy spending time with my wife and family when possible.

Posted 28 September 2009 - 06:35 PM

Do you believe that there is a curse to anyone who wins a substantial amount of cash in the lottery, or is it just a poor judgment by the winners?

Share your thoughts!
Ah. Well... I attended Juilliard... I'm a graduate of the Harvard business school. I travel quite extensively. I lived through the Black Plague and had a pretty good time during that. I've seen the EXORCIST ABOUT A HUNDRED AND SIXTY-SEVEN TIMES, AND IT KEEPS GETTING FUNNIER EVERY SINGLE TIME I SEE IT... NOT TO MENTION THE FACT THAT YOU'RE TALKING TO A DEAD GUY... NOW WHAT DO YOU THINK? You think I'm qualified? --BeetlejuiceI'm the ghost with the most, babe.--BeetlejuiceWe've come for your daughter Chuck--Beetlejuice

#2 freyjasdottir

freyjasdottir

Don't follow this leader

• Town Council
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,429 posts

Posted 28 September 2009 - 07:02 PM

I know a family where the husband and wife each bought a winning lottery ticket, a hair over a million each, they and their now adult children and grandchildren are doing fine. I also know a man who won a considerable bit more, fourteen years later his wife has left him, his mom and sister have both died and most of his surviving family will not speak to him.

In the first case it was good people just living their life as they always did though he did retire from plumbing earlier than planned. The second case was because he was a jerk before the money and he's still a jerk. At his sister's funeral he wasn't even with the family, his ex was gracious enough to sit with their grandmother.
Posted Image

Myspace