• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 hippiecowboyco

hippiecowboyco

Junior Villager

• PipPip
  • 32 posts

Posted 07 May 2004 - 09:14 AM

I've had quite possibly the worst six months of my life recently.
Right before Christmas we recieved word that my position was cancelled (I'm a teacher, triply "highly qualified" under NCLB)). Ho Ho Ho, up yours Superintendent(who would make Maciavelli blush with shame).
Yesterday, after filing a formal grievance on Tuesday in concert with the NEA, recieved word that my position, my director's position, and our school (all At-Risk high schoolers) were all re-instated!
Still have to wait out the procedures I started, but very comnforting to know that my union came through.  I was undergoing a nervous job hunt, facing no insurance (have 2 kids), and no income for the summer- now I can relax a bit (still job hunting- why stay where it's been proven I'm not wanted?).
So, anyone else out there union?  Any teachers out there who aren't, ought to consider joining their local/state org- in this economy it makes sense...
"Itso-ye"

#2 MoonChild

MoonChild

Undead giant that feasts on hotdogs!

• Town Council
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 50,397 posts
  • Interests:Life

Posted 07 May 2004 - 09:17 AM

package called life :(
Posted Image

#3 Paul_G

Paul_G

Senior Villager

• PipPipPipPip
  • 439 posts
  • Interests:Stuff

Posted 07 May 2004 - 03:38 PM

I'm not now, but I used to be in the UAW when I worked for GM.

I'm very pro-union. I'm in IT and I'm convinced that a large part of the reason there are no IT jobs in America anymore is because computer people saw themselves as being above unionizing.

It's almost impossible to unionize now... all the power and political pull is with the companies :(.

#4 Vampchick21

Vampchick21

Looks Irish, loves Italian food, lives in Canada....must be lost

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,995 posts
  • Interests:knitting, crocheting, writing, cats, paranormal phenomena, cryptzoology, Monty Python